Reintroduction: Phase 1 (Wine & Dairy)

We started our reintroduction phase a little early (dinner on Day 30) with some red wine. I have to say, I expected this to be a complete non-issue. I love wine, I love wine with dinner, and this seemed like an awesomely enjoyable plan.

I don’t remember exactly what wine we had- it was a red (cab maybe?) 2011 Trader Joe’s reserve wine. Full bodied and not at all sweet which is usually my preference. We each poured a glass, got really excited, took a sip and… what the hell? Why does this taste so strong and intense? Do I like it? I’m not sure that I like it. No, I’m sure I like it; it’s just been a while. Better have some more. It took me three hours to drink one glass of wine. And if you know me, this is not usually the case. Tim had two glasses in the same amount of time (he’s 6’4″, mind you) and admitted that he felt kind of drunk. We didn’t finish the bottle.

I went to sleep just fine but woke up at 2:30am with horrible nightmares and some stomach cramps. Tim told me he also slept poorly and had strange dreams. DAMN YOU, WHOLE30, FOR RUINING MY WINE TIME.

Wine Verdict: Jury’s out. I plan to try another glass when out to dinner on Saturday to reevaluate. I’ll try a lighter red or maybe a dry white to experiment. My pre-Whole30 self loved wine way too much for me to call it quits after one go.

Of all food groups, I’ve been most excited to reintroduce dairy. I mean please… we’re talking about CHEESE here.  I adore cheese like a good Midwesterner. I firmly believe you cannot have too much cheese. I’m sure it’s not recommended to follow up your wine night with dairy reintroduction right away in the morning but the cheese was calling my name and I just couldn’t resist.

cheese

We kicked it off with some herb chevre in our morning scrambled eggs. It was heaven. I’m still thinking about it. I realized that I’ve really missed that creamy sensation and texture in my food the past month. There’s really nothing like it, at least not that I’ve found. I also added some organic half and half to my coffee. It was flat-out disgusting. No one is more surprised by this than I am, really. Prior to Whole30 I’d probably had black coffee twice in my life (and never by choice). I LOVE fancy coffee drinks, creamers, etc. Apparently that’s no longer the case. This tasted… sour, maybe? I can’t describe it. I drank less than 1/3 of my mug before heading to Caribou for something black. I’m shocked  but at least I’ll spend less money on coffee drinks, right?

…I also had some mid-afternoon chocolate. Chocolate, my lover, I’m so glad we’ve rekindled our romance. Don’t panic – my chocolate was Paleo/Whole9 approved. Dark 72% cacao organic chocolate, to be exact. And I just had one square. And it was so delicious. Here’s a great article about how to look for compliant chocolate, if you’re wondering.

But the real star of the show was heading to Linden Hills after dinner for ice cream at Sabastian Joe’s! I have been on a countdown to ice cream since Whole30 started. I LOVE ice cream in the summer. It’s nostalgic and cute and wholesome and I just adore the entire concept. I had a cup of swiss almond chocolate and Tim enjoyed some chocolate praline pecan.

I am thrilled to say that, unlike coffee creamer, ice cream did not disappoint in the least. The first bite was AMAZING, and I wish I could say I was one of this people who found it “too sweet” or “not worth it” after two or three bites. Nope, not a chance in hell. All two scoops were gleefully eaten with no hint of remorse or slowing down. So apparently that whole “things become too sweet after Whole30” benefit did not extend to me. I’m not even upset.

And the best part? I appear to be tolerating dairy pretty well! About 90 minutes after the cream in the morning and 90 minutes after the ice cream at night my tummy got a little rumbley – as if I was hungry. There is no way I was hungry given what I’d eaten, so that seems like an interesting side effect. But so far, that’s it.

Dairy Verdict: Bring it on- in moderation. I don’t need to have dairy every day but I’ll likely be making it part of my regular diet. I enjoy dairy, my body agreed with it, and in my humble opinion dairy is the the weakest of the Whole9’s manifestos.

Tomorrow (probably) will be non-gluten grains like rice, corn, etc. Aka the boring ones. Woohoo.

Leave a Reply

