Day Two (And a Puppy Makeover)

I’d apologize for that notepad, but why bother? It’s a “sorry, not sorry” situation. Moving on…

In non-food related news, Miles got a puppy makeover today! Poor little guy came into rescue all matted (seriously, there was a stick stuck in his belly hair that we couldn’t get out. A STICK.) and looking like Chewbaccas long-lost Wookie brother. And now,he looks like a semi-naked but still cute Lhasa-Havanese mix!

This pic links to SHH website in case you're looking to foster/adopt a fluffball of your own.

This pic links to the SHH website in case you’re looking to foster/adopt a fluffball of your own. I highly encourage it.

And to make matters even better, the little guy is getting adopted. And to make it even MORE better (shhh grammar police) my PARENTS are adopting him! Woohoo! If this isn’t a foster dog adoption record I’ll be shocked. At worst it’s a personal best for us. Now, on to Day Two.

I woke up feeling way more alert this morning than I have any previous Monday in the past few months- but I’m not ready to chalk that up to changing one day of my food intake. It was likely the delicious smell coming from the kitchen… Tim’s first pre-work 6am cooking adventure!

Eating right away in the morning is still REALLY hard for me. I hate it. You could give me a pan of the world’s best brownies and if I’ve been awake for less than an hour I would gladly pass. It makes me feel nauseated and puts me in a cranky mood. I’m really hoping that eating the morning gets easier as this progresses or it’s going to be a very long month.

Meal One/Breaky

Meal One was awesome today: sweet potato hash with sunny side up eggs and a cup of black coffee. This was amazing and made me forget that I wasn’t eating carbs (THANK YOU SWEET POTATOES). This is a breakfast I will gladly make over and over and I think it will lend itself well to variations and experimentation. And I shouldn’t say thus, but it’s a meal I would likely eat in “real life”. No photo, because I can’t make an appealing-looking sunny side up egg to save my life. Click over to the original post/recipe here: Sweet Potato Hash with Fried Eggs on Nom Nom Paleo

Meal Two/Lunch

Arugula with leftover grilled chicken breast, baby cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, scallions, broccoli, carrots and avocado with a splash of balsamic. A couple macadamias and some blueberries afterward. It was pretty tasty and satisfying if not particularly exciting. I realized halfway through my meal that I was eating while on the computer. Dang, that’s going to be a tough habit to break.

M22 7/14/2014

Meal Three/Dinner

More sweet potatoes! Baked this time, with a ground beef and zucchini scramble on top, compliments of Tim. I don’t usually eat ground beef unless I’m out getting a top-notch Jucy Lucy so it felt really strange to just cook some up tonight. Also, now I really want a Jucy Lucy. From Matt’s. Wait- could I go and get a double hamburger and not eat the bun? Is that approved? Is anyone listening? Please send help immediately.

Anyways, it’s been nice to have more cooking experiences together. I don’t mind this scene one bit:

M3 7/14/2014

Day Two Thoughts

  1. Oh my god I want a snack. Where are the snacks? Can I have a snack? Seriously, all I can think about are snacks. This probably means that I haven’t found my right ratio of protein:veggies:fats in my meals yet. Or it means that the people just need snacks!
  2. I tried to consolidate my 1000+ Pinterest recipes today by moving anything Whole30 approved onto a designated board. Funny story… I only found 4 pins. That means I have approximately 996 recipes pinned that are NOT Whole30 approved. I guess I wasn’t eating as well as I thought.
  3. Everything has grains in it. Or well, all the good stuff. Ugh.
  4. Macadamia nuts are gifts from the Whole30 gods. I could eat my weight in those things.

Energy Level: Normal, I guess
Mood: Optimistic but feeling… snacky. Not sure if that’s a real mood or not.
Physical Changes: Nothing particularly notable.

Tomorrow is my first day back at work and out of my Whole30 at home bubble. I have a feeling things are about to get a lot more difficult.

Leave a Reply

